The 2018 Greater Cleveland Bench-Bar Memorial Program was held on Monday, April 16 at the CMBA Conference Center Auditorium beginning at Noon. The program paid tribute to attorneys and judges from Cleveland and Cuyahoga County who passed away in 2017 (January 1, 2017 - December 31, 2017) and had devoted their lives to upholding the rule of law and the highest standards of the community.

Every year, during the ceremony, brief remarks are made by various judges and local bar association representatives, and reflections are provided by a guest speaker. A full reading of the names of those being memorialized take place, and a reception with light refreshments are held immediately following the ceremony. 

The Memorial Program is presented each year as a collaborative effort by the bench and local bars, including the Cleveland Metropolitan, Federal-Northern District, and Norman S. Minor Bar Associations,. The program is open to the public at no cost and lasts approximately one hour.

The 2018 Memorial Program honored:

Fred J. Ball
Michael Lamont Belcher
The Honorable Jean Murrell Capers
Joyce E. Carlozzi
Zolman Cavitch
Leo Robert Collins
The Honorable William H. Corrigan
Marcia Dettelbach
Thomas Lee Dettelbach
Elizabeth Druyfuss
Larry S. Gordon
Mark D. Klimek
David P. Kraus
The Honorable Robert M. Lawther
George W. MacDonald
James Michael Mackey
Joel A. Makee
Thomas A. McCormack
Gary W. Melsher
John T. Meredith
Richard David Messerman
Virgil T. Morant
Harvey Stuart Morrison
Timothy J. Ochsenhirt
William Wilbert Owens
Samuel Richard Petry II
The Honorable Raymond L. Pianka
The Honorable James M. Porter
Magistrate Elliot Ian Resnick
Steven Slive
Mark Alan Smith
Roberta Kaye Spurgeon
Robert Lee Steely
Lawrence Anthony Sutter III
The Honorable Pauline H. Tarver
Magistrate Richard "Dick" F. Walsh
Fred Weisman