Bench-Bar Memorial Program 2011

Back to News

2011 Annual Greater Cleveland Bench-Bar Memorial Program Set for April 4

CLEVELAND – April 1, 2010 – The 2011 Annual Greater Cleveland Bench-Bar Memorial Program will be held Monday, April 4, at noon in the atrium of the Howard M. Metzenbaum U.S. Courthouse at 201 Superior Avenue, Cleveland. The program will pay tribute to 48 attorneys and judges from Cleveland and Cuyahoga County who passed away between January 1, 2010 through January 31, 2011, and had devoted their lives to upholding the rule of law and the highest standards of the community.

Chief Judge Solomon Oliver of the U.S. District Court, Northern District of Ohio, will preside over the ceremony, and judges from the U.S. District Court, Northern District of Ohio, Eighth District Court of Appeals, Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas and Cleveland and Cuyahoga County Municipal Courts are expected to be in attendance.

During the ceremony, brief remarks will be made by various judges and local bar association representatives, and reflections will be provided by Rabbi Richard A. Block, Senior Rabbi of The Temple-Tifereth Israel. A full reading of the names of those being memorialized will take place, and a reception with light refreshments will be held immediately following the ceremony.

The Memorial Program is presented each year as a collaborative effort by the bench and local bars, including the Cleveland Metropolitan, Federal-Northeast District, Asian American, Norman S. Minor, Ohio State and Ohio Women’s Bar Associations. The program is open to the public at no cost and will last approximately one hour.

This year, the Memorial Program will honor:

Janice Aitken Martin F. Franey Richard Leukart John E. Smeltz
Hon. Ann Aldrich David R. Fullmer Ronald M. Lipson Terry Ronald Smith
Frank D. Aquila Judd H. Gross George W. Lutjen Marvin Sorin
Hon. Sam H. Bell Irwin S. Haiman James T. Lynn Phillip P. Taylor
Hon. Frank D. Celebrezze J. Richard Hamilton Stewart I. Mandel Stanley Tolliver
James P. Conway J. Bruce Hunsicker Howard A. Marken Michael R. Tucker
John R. Crombie Denise A. Jackson Hon. Thomas J. Moyer Nicholas Valentino
James H. Dempsey, Jr. Aaron Jacobson Hon. August Pryatel John R. Vintilla
Charles M. Driggs Stanley B. Kent Richard C. Renkert Edmund A. Wigley
Donald W. Farley Kenneth W. Kleinman Mark J. Savage Allan J. Zambie
Stanley M. Fisher William I. Kohn John E. Schoonover Robert I. Zashin
James D. Fitzgerald Hon. Alvin I. Krenzler Kenneth F. Seminatore  Hon. Joseph A. Zingales

A transcript of the program will be available upon request, courtesy of Rennillo Court Reporting, Records & Media.

About the CMBA
The nonprofit Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association operates as a center for legal professionalism in the region, promoting the highest ethical and professional standards. Serving the largest legal community in the state, the CMBA has more than 5,400 members. Learn more at more at