Bench-Bar Memorial Program 2010

Back to News

Annual Greater Cleveland Bench-Bar Memorial Program Set for Monday

CLEVELAND – April 2, 2010 – The 2010 Annual Greater Cleveland Bench-Bar Memorial Program will be held Monday, April 5, at noon in the atrium of the Howard M. Metzenbaum U.S. Courthouse at 201 Superior Avenue, Cleveland.  The program will pay tribute to 28 attorneys and judges from Cleveland and Cuyahoga County who passed away in 2009 and had devoted their lives to upholding the rule of law and the highest standards of the community.

Chief Judge James G. Carr of the U.S. District Court, Northern District of Ohio, will preside over the ceremony, and judges from the U.S. District Court, Northern District of Ohio, Eighth District Court of Appeals, Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas and Cleveland and Cuyahoga County Municipal Courts are expected to be in attendance.

During the ceremony, brief remarks will be made by various judges and local bar association representatives, and reflections will be provided by Rabbi Richard A. Block, Senior Rabbi of The Temple-Tifereth Israel.  A full reading of the names of those being memorialized will take place, and a reception with light refreshments will be held immediately following the ceremony.

The Memorial Program is presented each year as a collaborative effort by the bench and local bars, including the Cleveland Metropolitan, Asian-American, Federal-Northeast District, Norman S. Minor, Ohio State and Ohio Women’s Bar Associations. The program is open to the public at no cost and will last approximately one hour.

This year, the Memorial Program will honor:

 Jerome L. Bentoff
Wyatt C. Brownlee
Anthony P. Carr
George R. Gibel
Bernard S. Goldfarb
Scott A. Harbottle
Henry A. Hentemann
Theodore Holtz
Howard M. Kohn
Richard R. Kuepper
   Eli Manos
Bernadette A. Marczely
John W. Martin
John J. Miller
Glen B. Morgan
Nicholas M. Moroz
Victor S. Nolan
Thano G. Pasalis
Michael R. Perme
Albert A. Pottinger, Jr.
   Frederick P. Roth
Ronald M. Rubenstein
Eugene R. Smith
Robert H. Stotter
Richard E. Streeter
James Lee Tasse
David B. Webster
Victor Wertheimer



A transcript of the program will be available upon request, courtesy of Rennillo Court Reporting, Records & Media.

Learn more at