Public Servants Merit Awards Luncheon

The plan to honor deserving public servants was inaugurated in 1947 by the late Raymond D. Metzner, a past President of the Cuyahoga County Bar Association (CCBA). CCBA Past President Franklin A. Polk served annually as continuous chairman until 1986. Mr. Polk was involved with this program until his passing in 1991. In 1986, the Public Servants Merit Award was renamed the "Franklin A. Polk Public Servants Merit Award" to honor Mr. Polk's dedication and outstanding service to the CCBA and CCBF.

Each year city and county courts and government agencies are asked to nominate eligible recipients for their outstanding service to the legal profession, the general public, and our justice system. These merit awards are given for long and faithful service, devotion to duty, wise counsel, unfailing patience, and assistance to the public and members of the Bench and Bar of this county.

In 2009, the Cleveland Bar Foundation and Cuyahoga County Bar Foundation unified as the Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Foundation.  The CMBF is honored and proud to continue this annual tradition providing an opportunity for celebration that is so meaningful to the judges, clerks, and court staff.  The event welcomes 400 or more attendees annually, including the judges and clerks of court who will accompany the honorees.

The 68th Annual Franklin A. Polk Public Servants Merit Awards Luncheon was held on September 12, 2014.  Over 400 people attended the luncheon to recognize the outstanding public service of eleven dedicated court employees.  

For more information about this annual event, or to get involved as a sponsor, please contact Tressa Trodden at (216) 696-3525 x4007.

To sponsor the Luncheon, please contact Tressa Trodden at (216) 696-3525 x4007.

Sponsorship Levels

$125 - Individual Sponsor (includes one ticket to the luncheon and $80 tax-deductible donation to the CMBF)

$300-Bronze-(includes 4 tickets and $180 tax-deductible donation to the CMBF)

$750 - Silver  - (includes 5 tickets and $525 tax-deductible donation to the CMBF)

$1500 - Gold (includes table of 10 and $1050 tax-deductible donation to the CMBF)

Sponsorships include one table of 10 (unless noted), event coverage in the Bar Journal, recognition at the event, acknowledgement in the program and post-event coverage.

*If sponsor opts to donate any of the tickets to the CMBF for deserving law and college students in our diversity pipeline programs, additional tax deductible opportunities are created.   

Thank you to our 2014 Sponsors!

Calfee, Halter & Griswold LLP
Case Western Reserve University School of Law
Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
Gallagher Sharp
Hon. Diane Karpinski
Kronenberg + Belovich Law LLC
Lazzaro Law Offices
Matthew McMonagle

Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP
Thompson Hine LLP
Ulmer & Berne LLP
Walter | Haverfield LLP

In the history of the event, over 350 Cuyahoga County residents have been honored as outstanding public servants, representing in total over 8500 years of exemplary public service.

We congratulate the 2014 Honorees:

Cornelia Byrne, Shaker Heights Municipal Court
Rochelle Dobeck, Eighth District Court of Appeals
Lisa Fox, Cleveland Municipal Court, Clerk's Office
Kenneth Hirz, United States Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of Ohio
Charles Jannsohn, Cuyahoga County Clerk of Courts
Colleen Kilbane, Cuyahoga County Domestic Relations Court
Geraldine Kilbane, Cuyahoga County Juvenile Court
Margaret Mazzeo, Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas
Lynn Muniak, Parma Municipal Court
Gloria Toombs, Cleveland Municipal Court
Ralph Zarnick, Cuyahoga County Probate Court