Annual Bench-Bar Memorial Program

The 2014 Annual Greater Cleveland Bench-Bar Memorial Program will be held Monday, April 7, at noon in the atrium of the Howard M. Metzenbaum U.S. Courthouse at 201 Superior Avenue, Cleveland.  The program will pay tribute to 35 attorneys and judges from Cleveland and Cuyahoga County who passed away in 2013 and had devoted their lives to upholding the rule of law and the highest standards of the community.

Chief Judge Solomon Oliver of the U.S. District Court, Northern District of Ohio, will preside over the ceremony, and judges from the U.S. District Court, Northern District of Ohio; Eighth District Court of Appeals; Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas; and Cleveland and Cuyahoga County Municipal Courts will be in attendance. 

During the ceremony, brief remarks will be made by various judges and local bar association representatives, and reflections will be provided by a guest speaker.  A full reading of the names of those being memorialized will take place, and a reception with light refreshments will be held immediately following the ceremony. 

The Memorial Program is presented each year as a collaborative effort by the bench and local bars, including the Cleveland Metropolitan, Federal-Northern District, Norman S. Minor, Ohio State and Ohio Women’s Bar Associations. The program is open to the public at no cost and will last approximately one hour. 

The year, the Memorial Program will honor: 

Charles P. "Chuck" Alusheff C. Daniel Nash
Robert K. Bissell Sidney Nudelman
Douglas C. Blackburn Joseph T. Ostrowski
Neil J. Byrne  Rexford W. Post
Bruce Cichocki Hon. John W. Potter
Thomas H. DeChant Hon. Patrick J. Rhoa  
 Margaret Demer Mark W. Ruf
Robert E. Fleck Nicholas D. Satullo
Martin T. Franey Hon. Walter A. Savage
Philip N. Georgeadis Hon. Richard L. Speer
Lois A. Gruhin Lawrence E. Stewart
Richard H. Hahn Seth C. Taft
 Walter J. Laska Clyde E. Thomas
Hon. Patrick G. Lazzaro Lawrence C. Turnock
John D. Liber ("Jack") Thomas C. Vanik
Lloyd Loux Jr. Dean P. Wyman
James R. Manley William L. Ziegler
Edward A. "Ted" Mearns Jr.