Real Estate Law Section

The Real Estate Law Section keeps its members up-to-date on issues relating to real estate law. We accomplish this by having monthly Section luncheon meetings featuring relevant topics and knowledgeable speakers. Additionally, the Real Estate Law Section coordinates the renowned two-day Real Estate Law Institute each fall, participates in the practice and procedures clinics and sponsors a half-day real estate seminar each Spring. The Real Estate Law Section provides many opportunities for our members to become involved and network with a diverse group of attorneys at the monthly meetings and through various working committees.

Click here to suggest topics and/or speakers for our monthly lunches. 




 No Pic 

Deborah D. Zielinski  


Katheryn J. McFadden 


Chicago Title Insurance Company 



 McFadden & Freeburg Co., LPA 


Laws involving the use and ownership of real property contribute to peace and stability in the United States and represent one of the most important foundations of our judicial system.

In keeping with this principle, the Cleveland Bar Association formed the Real Estate Law Committee in 1975, with its members appointed by the President of the Bar Association for 3-year terms. The Committee was formed to assist Cleveland’s real estate lawyers, considered one of the most knowledgeable and sophisticated in the country, to keep abreast of the developments and issues which pertain to real property. The present Real Estate Law Section was formed in 1979, at the time the Bar Association established various substantive law sections, and opened up membership to all members of the Association. The Chairs of the Real Estate Law Committee and the Real Estate Law Section since 1975 represent a “Who’s Who” of Cleveland Real Estate attorneys.

The Real Estate Law Section is one of the Bar Association’s larger sections, boasting a current membership of 345 attorneys. The membership includes highly respected real estate practitioners throughout Northeast Ohio’s large, small and boutique law firms. Many of its members are recognized for expertise in real estate nationally through The American College of Real Estate Lawyers and The Best Lawyers in America, on the state level through Ohio Super Lawyers, and locally through Properties’ Leading Lawyers. In addition, many Section attorneys are active in or officers of various national real estate organizations and their local affiliates, such as the International Council of Shopping Centers (ICSC), National Association of Industrial and Office Parks (NAIOP), Mortgage Bankers Association (MBA), Cleveland Real Estate Women (CREW), and Greater Cleveland Real Estate Organizations (GCREO).

The Real Estate Law Committee and Real Estate Law Section always maintained as a top priority the continuing legal education of its members. The first Real Estate Institute able to be confirmed was presented April 11, 1964 to examine recurrent practical problems incurred by real estate attorneys and was co-chaired by Alvin Kendis and Raymond Durn. It wasn’t until 1979 that the Section began sponsorship of the Real Estate Law Institute, with Robert Blattner as its first Chair. This two-day Institute has been presented annually since then and has grown to be one of the largest presented by the Bar Association. The Institute focuses on those issues which are relevant to real estate practitioners. 

In addition, Section luncheon meetings are held monthly at which issues relevant to real property are discussed. The Chairs of the Section’s standing committees report on activities during the past month. A guest speaker discusses a substantive real estate or related topic to the Section at each meeting.

In honor of the memory of Bob Rosewater, a former Chair of the Section, Co-Chair and an annual presenter at the Real Estate Law Institute, and Chair of the Section’s Recent Developments Committee and Model Forms Committee, his widow, Gail Rosewater, established in 2002 the “Bob Rosewater Memorial Award for Meritorious Service to the Real Estate Section of the Cleveland Bar Association.” The Section’s first award was given posthumously to Bob Rosewater and annually thereafter to the following recipients: James P. McAndrews, Richard Rosner, Jacob Rosenbaum, Robert Blattner, Thomas A. Mason,  Robert D. Markus, Arthur V.N. Brooks, John W. Waldeck, Jr., Robert V. Secrist, Jr., Richard L. Reppert, Robert D. Gutin, Samuel S. Pearlman and Irene M. MacDougall.

All members of the Bar Association are invited to join and participate in the Real Estate Section.


1975      Harold Fallon 1996 Mary F. Lovett
1976 William R. Van Aken 1997      Larry Rothenberg
1977      William Leizman and Benton Bassett 1998 Richard (Dick) Reppert
1978 Robert A. Blattner 1999 Diane Coscarelli
1979 Sherman A. Hollander 2000 Robert Gutin
1980 James P. McAndrews 2001 David Waxman
1981 Robert Rosewater 2002 Kurt Karakul
1982 Edward Mamrock 2003 Hal Maxfield
1983 Albert P. Pickus 2004 Diane Leung
1984 John P. Coyne 2005 Joseph (Jay) Cusimano
1985 Charles D. Stack 2006 Michael S. Owendoff
1986 Indra Shah 2007 Mark Leskovec
1987 Rebecca Gabriel 2008 Terence Thomas
1988 Michael A. Poklar 2009 Keith Raker
1989 Michael D. Goler 2010 Mark Stockman
1990 Richard A. Rosner 2011 David Lindner
1991 Thomas A. Mason 2012 Linda Green
1992 Edward R. Horejs, Jr. 2013 Monica Russell
1993      Jeffrey R. Huntsburger 2014 Jeffrey Gallup
1994      Robert D. Markus    
1995 Michael R. Spreng    


New for 2016 - Section meetings are moving to the second Thursday of the month.

View our events calendar.