Public Servants Merit Awards Luncheon

The 69th Annual Franklin A. Polk Public Servants Merit Awards Luncheon was held on August 28, 2015.  Over 450 people are attended the luncheon to recognize the outstanding public service of thirteen dedicated court employees.  

The plan to honor deserving public servants was inaugurated in 1947 by the late Raymond D. Metzner, a past President of the Cuyahoga County Bar Association (CCBA). CCBA Past President Franklin A. Polk served annually as continuous chairman until 1986. Mr. Polk was involved with this program until his passing in 1991. In 1986, the Public Servants Merit Award was renamed the "Franklin A. Polk Public Servants Merit Award" to honor Mr. Polk's dedication and outstanding service to the CCBA and CCBF.

Each year city and county courts and government agencies are asked to nominate eligible recipients for their outstanding service to the legal profession, the general public, and our justice system. These merit awards are given for long and faithful service, devotion to duty, wise counsel, unfailing patience, and assistance to the public and members of the Bench and Bar of this county.

In 2009, the Cleveland Bar Foundation and Cuyahoga County Bar Foundation unified as the Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Foundation.  The CMBF is honored and proud to continue this annual tradition providing an opportunity for celebration that is so meaningful to the judges, clerks, and court staff.  The event welcomes 400 or more attendees annually, including the judges and clerks of court who will accompany the honorees.

For more information about this annual event, or to get involved as a sponsor, please call (216) 696-3525.

 Photo strip 

To sponsor the Luncheon or to purchase tickets, please download the form or contact Tressa Trodden at (216) 696-3525 x4007. 

Sponsorship Levels

$125 - Individual Sponsor (includes one ticket to the luncheon and $80 tax-deductible donation to the CMBF)

$300-Bronze-(includes 4 tickets and $180 tax-deductible donation to the CMBF)

$750 - Silver  - (includes 5 tickets and $525 tax-deductible donation to the CMBF)

$1500 - Gold (includes table of 10 and $1050 tax-deductible donation to the CMBF)

Sponsorships include one table of 10 (unless noted), event coverage in the Bar Journal, recognition at the event, acknowledgement in the program and post-event coverage.

*If sponsor opts to donate any of the tickets to the CMBF for deserving law and college students in our diversity pipeline programs, additional tax deductible opportunities are created.   

Thank you to our 2015 Sponsors!

Benesch, Friedlander, Coplan & Aronoff
Calfee, Halter & Griswold LLP
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
Hon. Diane Karpinski
Kronenberg + Belovich Law LLC
Lynn A. Lazzaro
Scott Lewis
Barbara Roman
Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP
Tucker Ellis LLP
Ulmer & Berne LLP 
Walter | Haverfield LLP  


In the history of the event, over 350 Cuyahoga County residents have been honored as outstanding public servants, representing in total over 8500 years of exemplary public service.

We congratulate the 2015 Honorees:

Carl Bates, Cleveland Municipal Court, Clerks Office
Salvatore G. Bucca, Cuyahoga County Domestic Relations Court
Mary Elliott, Cleveland Municipal Court Housing Division
Edward Fink, Parma Municipal Court
James W. Ginley, Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas
Barbara Heppner, Cuyahoga County Public Defenders Office
Mary Pat Horwitz, Eighth District Court of Appeals
Lori Kiefer, Cuyahoga County Probate Court
Gilbert Glenn King, Cleveland Municipal Court
David Kozlowski, United States Department of Justice, Office of the United States Trustee
Angela Lewis, Cuyahoga County Clerk of the Courts
Melissa Reilly, Rocky River Municipal Court
Carl Schiller, Cuyahoga County Juvenile Court