66th Annual Public Servants Luncheon

Back to News

Bar Foundation to Host 66th Annual Public Servants Luncheon
Cleveland Mayor Frank Jackson to Deliver Keynote

CLEVELAND – August 17, 2012 – The Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Foundation (CMBF) is proud to present the 66th Annual Franklin A. Polk Public Servants Merit Awards Luncheon on Friday, September 7 from 12 to 1:30 p.m. at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. The Awards Luncheon celebrates and honors public servants whose everyday commitment ensures full access to the justice system. Mayor Frank Jackson is scheduled to deliver his remarks at approximately 12:30 p.m.

Each year, city, county and federal courts nominate eligible recipients and these merit awards are given for long and faithful service, devotion to duty, wise counsel, unfailing patience, and assistance to the public and members of the Bench and Bar of Cuyahoga County. The event welcomes hundreds of attendees annually.

The 2012 Honorees are:

  • Michael Hrestak – Cuyahoga County Clerk of Courts
  • Kathleen Kuznik – Domestic Relations Court
  • Donna Marcoguiseppe – Garfield Heights Municipal Court
  • Maria Nemec Common Pleas General Division
  • Pete Panos – Cuyahoga County Juvenile Court
  • Marilyn Reaves – Eighth District Court of Appeals
  • Robert Sanders, III – Cleveland Municipal Court Clerk’s Office
  • Mark Schultz – Cleveland Municipal Court
  • Leslie Smith – United States Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of Ohio

"This event is unique as it allows the entire legal community the chance to collectively thank the public servants for their demonstrated devotion to service and wise counsel to attorneys and the public," said Lynn Lazzaro, president of the CMBF. "The public servants we honor have served as unsung heroes of our justice system. We are especially pleased to have Mayor Jackson participate in this very long and proud tradition. 

The plan to honor deserving public servants was inaugurated in 1947 by the late Raymond D. Metzner, a past president of the Cuyahoga County Bar Association (CCBA). CCBA Past President Franklin A. Polk served annually as continuous chairman until 1986. Polk was involved with this program until his passing in 1991. In 1986, the Public Servants Merit Award was renamed the "Franklin A. Polk Public Servants Merit Award" to honor Polk's dedication and outstanding service to the CCBA and Cuyahoga County Bar Foundation (CCBF). In 2009, the Cleveland Bar Foundation and CCBF unified as the CMBF. 

Sponsors for this year’s event include: Baker & Hostetler LLP; Calfee, Halter & Griswold LLP; Case Western Reserve University School of Law; The Cleveland Foundation; Cleveland-Marshall College of Law; Douglass & Associates Co., L.P.A. ; Kronenberg + Belovich Law LLC; Lazzaro Law Offices LLC; Margaret W. Wong & Associates Co., L.P.A.; Mansour, Gavin, Gerlack & Manos Co., LPA; Meyers, Roman, Friedberg & Lewis; Reminger Co., L.P.A.; Squire Sanders (US) LLP; Tucker Ellis LLP; Ulmer & Berne LLP; Walter & Haverfield, LLP; Weltman, Weinberg & Reis Co., L.P.A.; Ashley M. Edwards; Judge Diane Karpinski (retired); and G. Christopher Meyer.

About the CMBF
The Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Foundation is the charitable arm and partner of the Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association. It raises funds to support the important public outreach activities of the Association, which are organized primarily under the Justice For All umbrella. These activities include a variety of pro bono legal service, law-related education, tutoring and mentoring programs. Additionally, the CMBF assists the Association’s diversity and inclusion initiatives aimed at improving the pipeline of minority students entering the legal profession. www.clemetrobar.org/Foundation.